May 018

Presented by Larry Garfield (@Crell)

Date: May 17,
Time: 20:00 CDT

18:00 PDT, 3:00 CEST (May 18), 2:00 BST (May 18)
Not sure of the time in your area? Check it on

Containers are all the rage these days. They’re fast, they make deployment easy, they handle dependencies, they slice, they dice, they make julienne fries! But… what are they? What exactly is a and how does it work? Just how does a differ from the “old” silver bullet, virtual machines?

Here’s a hint: It has nothing to do with boats, or whales, or shipping. That’s all marketing fluff.

Containers are simply a shorthand name for leveraging newer features of operating system kernels that let the OS to programs about how they’re running. In fact, all of modern software is built on lies. That’s what’s useful about it!

To understand how that works, why it’s so useful, and where it’s not, let’s dive into how software actually works on a modern Linux system to see how those kernel features fit into the big picture, building up to “containers” along the way. Pull back the veil of lies and see how your computer really works.

Larry Garfield

Larry Garfield  - larry garfield 200 - The Container is a Lie!

Larry Garfield has been building websites since he was a sophomore in high school, which is longer ago than he’d like to admit. Larry was an active Drupal contributor and consultant for over a decade, and led the Drupal 8 Web Services initiative that helped transform Drupal into a modern PHP .

Larry is Director of Developer Experience at, a leading continuous
deployment hosting company. He is also a member of the PHP-FIG Core

Larry holds a Master’s degree in Computer Science from DePaul University. He blogs at both and

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here